The Joy of Writing “The Still Point”

The season of Epiphany, which began January 6, is the season for sharing light.  Through the prophet Isaiah (42:6) God tells us: “I have taken you by the hand and kept you; I have given you as a covenant to the people, a light to the nations.”  Jesus tells us, “You are the light of the world” (Matthew 5:14).   We are called to receive and share the light that God has put in our hearts and minds.  In a small way my writing contributes to that mission and I am grateful for all who have graciously spent some time this past year with one of my blog postings or a page or two on my website, “The Still Point”.  Thank you.

2012 was a good year for the website and blog, The Still Point: A Contemplative Viewpoint.  December was the busiest month ever (1000+ hits) and total hits to date have passed the 10,000 mark.  I have enjoyed responding to comments for each posting.   Please keep the comments coming and make sure to check the box so that you receive my response by email.

If you missed some of the 2012 blog postings here is a list (with links to them):

The Birth of the Messiah

The Illusion of Multitasking and the Reality of Paying Attention

The Winter’s Tale

Steam Trains as a Spiritual Metaphor

FDR – A Book Review

The Tragedy of Violence

A Silent Retreat

What I Am Learning from the Rule of Benedict

The Struggle for Religious freedom in the 17th Century

The Way (movie review)

Meditation and Lectio Divina

Charles Dickens Bicentenary

Thanksgiving on Recovering from Illness

The Value of Silence

My all time most popular blog was Mystical Nativity about Botticelli’s painting at the National Gallery, London, and the most popular page has been Meditation (which I revised recently).  I just had an article published by Minister Magazine about what Baptists might learn from the Rule of Benedict (similar to the blog above, “What I Am Learning from the Rule of Benedict”).  You may read the article at:

http://www.ministerscouncil.org/Periodicals/Publications.aspx
(Go down to the third heading, Minister Magazine – 2012/2013 Winter issue)

If the writing means to others even 1% of what it means to me, I shall be happy.   A big thank you to those of you who have subscribed to my blog. You may subscribe to my blog postings without fear of receiving advertising (by entering your email address in the subscription box at the bottom of the right hand column on any page of the website).

Blessings and peace be with you in 2013.

John

About John Fisk

I am a retired pastor, who served churches in New England for 33 years. I emigrated to the USA from England in 1974 and completed two graduate degrees in theology and pastoral practice at Andover-NewtonTheological School. In retirement I am focused on the teaching of Christian meditation, providing spiritual guidance, leading retreats and occasional preaching. I am particularly interested in contemplation, the mystical path and social justice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Joy of Writing “The Still Point”

  1. So happy for your growing readership, John!

Leave a Reply

