The Still Point 2013 Recap

I recently attended at the Attleboro Arts Museum a talk by B. A. Shapiro, author of The Art Forger, a New York Times bestseller.  She described 25 years of joyfully writing novels and experiencing constant disappointment and frustration in the publishing world, before hitting the big time in 2012.  I was impressed with her determination and passion for her craft, but I’m very grateful to WordPress for making publication easy for less ambitious writers like me.  I am especially grateful for all who subscribe to my blog and who form the core of my readers.  You are the ones whose reading and comments make this enterprise eminently rewarding.  Welcome to the 29 folks who were new subscribers in 2013.  If you are not presently a subscriber you may receive the blog posting by email by entering your email address in the subscription box at the bottom right hand column on any page of the website (https://johnfisk.wordpress.com).  I am very wary about signing up for anything by email, but I assure you that WordPress does not share your email address with anyone and the service is free of charge.

The total number of views of the Still Point website rose to 6800 in 2013, and visitors were from many nations (the U.S.A., the U.K. and India being the top three).  I wrote 17 postings (14 in 2012) so I am getting more productive.   I read all comments with great interest and am glad to hear what you have found helpful (when commenting please check the email reply box).  In case you missed some of the 2013 blog postings here is a list (with links):

Mystical Nativity

 Blue Christmas

The Search for the Sacred in Modern Art

“You don’t have feelings; feelings have you!”

A Vacation Quandary

 A Day of Peace

 The Most Encouraging Farewell Ever

The Meaning of Love: Eros and Agape

God in the Quiet

Rumi and Rilke

The Injustice of Faulty Economic Analysis

Romeo and Juliet and the Transformation of Desire

Do You Want To Know a Secret?

What Is Your Image of God?

Lead Us Not into a Scam

Four Spiritual Types/ Paths

The Joy of Writing the Still Point

Blessings and peace for 2014,

John

About John Fisk

I am a retired pastor, who served churches in New England for 33 years. I emigrated to the USA from England in 1974 and completed two graduate degrees in theology and pastoral practice at Andover-NewtonTheological School. In retirement I am focused on the teaching of Christian meditation, providing spiritual guidance, leading retreats and occasional preaching. I am particularly interested in contemplation, the mystical path and social justice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

