“The Still Point” Annual Review

John preparing to battle the snow.

John preparing to battle the snow.

When Jesus said, quoting the prophet Isaiah, “I have come to proclaim freedom for the prisoner” (Luke 4:18), I am sure he did not have in mind me stuck indoors surrounded by piles of snow six feet high! Nevertheless with the 60+ inches of snow we’ve had in the last month (and some places in New England more than that) I feel like a prisoner in a dreaded Siberia-like climate. I am wise enough to know that I can be captive to my own depressive feelings and that the cure is to focus on something else. I have a choice: to do my taxes or to write a blog. I joyfully choose the latter and in the process recall that there’s plenty to be grateful for: we have heat and electricity and food and we can get to the coffee shop and the supermarket and being retired we do not have to go to work every day. We try to be supportive to those who go to daily work by offering a listening ear to their struggles.

The main focus of this post is an annual review of my blog and website, The Still Point . Thank you for reading my posts and for comments you have made. A special warm welcome to the twenty three who signed up during 2014 as subscribers either by email or through WordPress (bringing the total subscribers to 99 as well as those who read the posts on Facebook, Linkedin, Google +).   I published 16 blogs last year and there were 4577 views by visitors to my website. For all this encouragement I am very grateful.

Here’s a list of my posts during the past 12 months. If you missed any of them please click on the link and feel free to share these posts with others through social media:

 William Blake’s Epic Poems: Milton and Jerusalem (an introduction)

Themed Travel: the Roosevelts and the Rockefellers (in the Hudson River Valley)

The Annunciation by Fra Angelico (a gorgeous painting for Advent)

Capturing the Moment (mindfulness)

Might Prayer Change Partisan Politics? (the cultural divide in America)

The Forsaken Garden (environmental illness and allergies)

The Big Read: When the Emperor Was Divine (Japanese internment in WWII)

Begin Again (movie review)

Stakeholders vs. Shareholders (Arthur T. Demoulas and Corporate Responsibility)

Reframing (change of perspective illustrated by the Psalms)

Meditation, A Slow Boat to China (meditation as a loving spiritual practice)

Body-Soul Connection (how we treat ourselves in the face of illness)

Stillness and My Vacation in England (the value of moments of stillness)

Departures (movie review)

“Look to the rock from which you were hewn” (recovering meaning in life)

The Joy of Being (reflection on the Winter Olympics)

Misperceptions (how we misread people, situations and God by projecting our fears)

I welcome your comments and feedback. Interaction with readers is an important part of the blogging process. If you are not a subscriber you may sign up by entering your email in the subscriber box at the bottom of the far right column of each page of the website.  Be assured you will receive no advertising from WordPress.

About John Fisk

I am a retired pastor, who served churches in New England for 33 years. I emigrated to the USA from England in 1974 and completed two graduate degrees in theology and pastoral practice at Andover-NewtonTheological School. In retirement I am focused on the teaching of Christian meditation, providing spiritual guidance, leading retreats and occasional preaching. I am particularly interested in contemplation, the mystical path and social justice.
This entry was posted in Annual review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

